• Email to friend
  • The Nassau Guardian Facebook Page
  • RSS Feed
  • Pinterest



Breaking News:

Six Bahamians among CHTA scholarship recipients

Published: Aug 28, 2017

  • Share This:

    Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Email to friend Share

  • Rate this article:

Six Bahamians are among the cohort of nearly three dozen students awarded more than $130,000 worth of scholarships from the Caribbean Hotel and Tourism Association Education Foundation (CHTAEF).

Forjee Jackson, Gabrielle Josey, Donovan Moss, Dwayne Sinclair, Antanae Taylor and Kenria Taylor are the scholarship recipients.

Including the renewal of 12 scholarships awarded to students last year, this academic year recorded a total of 34 scholarships funded by the nonprofit group. Seventy people applied this year, and scholarships range, on average, from $2,000 to $5,000. The funds are intended exclusively for tuition costs. Universities such as Johnson & Wales provide matching grants for CHTAEF recipients, effectively doubling the scholarship awards.

The association set up the foundation 30 years ago to support programs for the development and improvement of education and training in the tourism and hotel sector in the Caribbean. Scholarships are available to Caribbean students and industry professionals pursuing higher education or professional development in the hospitality and tourism field and are awarded with support from CHTAEF sponsors and supporters.

CHTAEF Chairman Richard Kahn thanked the hotels and resorts for their support of the foundation, but highlighted corporate partners Interval International and Virgin Holidays for their generous funding of Caribbean education.

“The hotel stays we receive from our CHTA members provide the value we use for The New York Times Travel Show Auction, which this year produced more than $106,000 in revenue for the foundation. We couldn't provide these scholarships without those funds,” he said.

“Seeing these scholarships awarded to our talented Caribbean nationals is one of my most pleasurable duties,” said Karolin Troubetzkoy, CHTA president, who thanked national hotel and tourism associations across the region for their support throughout the process. “There is no better investment we can make than banking on our splendid young people and industry professionals who will transform our sector with their dynamism, enthusiasm and intellectual rigor.”

Scholarships were also handed out to students from Anguilla, Antigua, Aruba, Barbados, Guyana, Jamaica, St. Lucia, St. Maarten, Trinidad and Tobago and the U.S. Virgin Islands.


Add comment


Note: Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive. The Nassau Guardian reserves the right not to publish comments that may be deemed libelous, derogatory or indecent.

Security code


Today's Front Page

  • Enewspaper
  • Enewspaper
  • Enewspaper
  • Enewspaper

  • http://www.ansbacher.bs
  • http://www.walkinclinicbahamas.com
  • http://www.cfal.com
  • http://www.colinageneral.com
  • http://www.Colina.com